Top 5 questions about Euro 2020

7 June 2021 4 minutes

With the Euros kicking off in less than 5 days we have 5 questions and answers about this years competition.

01. Why is it called Euros 2020 when its being played in 2021

The Euros were initially meant to be held in 2020 but had to be postponed due to the worldwide pandemic, Covid-19. UEFA held discussions with partners and held an internal review but decided that keeping the original name would allow them to still celebrate the 60th anniversary of the European Competition, as initially planned (All be it a year later!).

They also explained that another factor was that a lot of promotional materials had already been produced and they wanted to be mindful of the environment and remain sustainable. A UEFA spokesperson said – “This choice is in line with UEFA’s commitment to make UEFA EURO 2020 sustainable and not to generate additional amounts of waste. A lot of branded material had already been produced by the time of the tournament’s postponement. A name change for the event would have meant the destruction and reproduction of such items.”

02. What teams are playing in Euro 2020?

Euro 2016 saw a change in format which introduced an additional 8 teams bring the total number of competing nations to 24. Despite criticism, with German manager Joachim Low and Germany CB Mats Hummels being the most vocal, UEFA stuck by their guns and proceeded with the expanded competition.

This year, like last, sees 6 groups of 4 compared to the previously run format of 4 groups of 4. The groups are listed as below.

Group A – Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland

Group B – Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia

Group C – Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, North Macedonia

Group D – England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic

Group E – Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia

Group F – Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

03. Why is Euro 2020 being hosted in multiple countries?

For the first time ever the Euros will be hosted across multiple countries buy for what reason? In 2012, then president Michel Platini said that this one-off style tournament will create a ‘Romantic’ event for the 60th Anniversary. It also allowed ‘smaller’ countries to participate in hosting a European event of this scale that under normal circumstances they wouldn’t have the facilities or budget to do so.

04. Who’s in the England squad?

Initally Gareth Southgate announced a 32 man squad which has since been reduced to a team of 26. The players included in the final squad are:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Bromwich Albion), Jordan Pickford (Everton)

Defenders: Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ben White (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham)

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

05. Who’s going to win the Euros?

The bookies (skybet) currently have England & France as joint favourites 9/2 while Belgium are a little way behind that at 6/1. There is then Portugal, Spain & Germany just behind Belgium all coming in at 8/1.